President Trump Signs New Executive Order on Immigration

President Donald Trump signed a new executive order on immigration Monday. (Photo: The White House)

(NewsPop) — President Donald Trump on Monday signed a second version of his executive order blocking immigrants from specific countries from entering the United States for 90 days.

Citizens from six countries —Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen — are affected by the ban. The original executive order also banned immigrants from Iraq and all refugees from war-torn Syria. Now some refugees from Syria can come to the U.S. if they wait 120 days.

Mr. Trumps’s original order, which critics called a “Muslim ban” due to the fact that the majority of immigrants blocked from entry were Muslim, was suspended by a judge who said it was unconstitutional because it discriminated on people based on religion.  Immigrant right activists say the new order is not much different.

President Trump says his action will keep our nation safe by protecting us from potential terrorists.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *